Who will win the John R. Wooden Award for CBB?

The 2020 Wooden Award winner was Obi Toppin he averaged 20.0 ppg, 7.5 rpg, and 2.2 apg.

This year there are 3 players that are ahead of the rest in their case for the 2021 Wooden Award (Evan Mobley, Luka Garza and Ayo Dosunmu).

The case for Evan Mobley:

True freshman averaging 17.1 ppg, 8.8 rpg, 2.2 apg, 3.2 blocks/game and shooting 59.9% from the field. He is top 5 in all major categories for freshman, but he will probably not win this award because his numbers are a little behind some of the upperclassmen this year.

The case for Luka Garza:

Luka Garza is my frontrunner for the 2021 Wooden Award. He is 1st in the country in scoring (24.7 ppg). He is also averaging 8.4 rpg, 1.8 apg, and 1.6 blocks/game while shooting 56.3% from the field and 45.1% from 3 point range.

The case for Ayo Dosunmu:

Dosunmu is currently number 10 in the country in scoring (21.2 ppg). He is also averaging 6.2 rpg, 5.3 apg, and he is shooting 49.4% from the field (42.2% from 3P). Ayo Dosunmu is helping Illinois have a fantastic season in the Big Ten, which is more competitive than ever! Ayo Dosunmu also has 2 triple doubles this year (which is half of the total triple doubles in Illinois’ history for college basketball).

According to woodenaward.com the late season top 20 candidates are:

Charles BasseyWestern KentuckyConference USA6-11Jr.C
James BouknightConnecticutBig East6-5SophG
Jared ButlerBaylorBig 126-3Jr.G
Marcus CarrMinnesotaBig Ten6-2Jr.G
Justin ChampagniePittsburghACC6-6SophF
Kofi CockburnIllinoisBig Ten7-0SophC
Cade CunninghamOklahoma StateBig 126-8Fr.G
Hunter DickinsonMichiganBig Ten7-1Fr.C
Ayo DosunmuIllinoisBig Ten6-5Jr.G
Luka Garza*IowaBig Ten6-11Sr.C
Collin GillespieVillanovaBig East6-3Sr.G
Quentin GrimesHoustonAmerican6-5Jr.G
Ron Harper Jr.RutgersBig Ten6-6Jr.G/F
Trayce Jackson-DavisIndianaBig Ten6-9SophF
Carlik JonesLouisvilleACC6-1Sr.G
Corey KispertGonzagaWCC6-7Sr.F
Evan MobleyUSCPac-127-0Fr.F
Jeremiah Robinson-EarlVillanovaBig East6-9SophF
Jalen SuggsGonzagaWCC6-4Fr.G
Drew TimmeGonzagaWCC6-10SophF

The case can be made for the remaining 17 players on this list. Comment on this post who you think deserves the 2021 Wooden Award and why.

Source: https://www.woodenaward.com/john_r_wooden_award_presented_by_wendy_s_announces_2020_21_men_s_late_season_top_20_watch_list

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: